Counting the days.. - Reisverslag uit Leeuwarden, Nederland van Mirjam Schouten - WaarBenJij.nu Counting the days.. - Reisverslag uit Leeuwarden, Nederland van Mirjam Schouten - WaarBenJij.nu

Counting the days..

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Mirjam

31 Augustus 2017 | Nederland, Leeuwarden

Today 4 weeks from now, I’ll lay eyes on the Himalayan foothills for the first time. That’s right. Himalayan foothills! Looking out of my window while writing this and watching the rain pour down all day, I can hardly imagine nature’s magnificence I’ll get to witness. Can’t wait to get on the airplane, I’m really counting the days!! At the same time, nerves make me feel slightly sick to my stomach now and then. I’ve been in India 3 times. But this will be the first time I travel alone. Also the area I’m travelling to, I’ve never been before. So, I guess I’ll be leaving my comfort zone at home...

This trip is for me, though. Because at the end of 2016 I suddenly felt the urgent need to leave the speed of life for a while. To maybe even escape all the clear-cut habits and convictions I created myself. To look through another window at life. Another than my own, which I sometimes almost! believed as true. So yes, this trip is for me. To refresh :)

What is also me, is my inner drive to make a positive change in this world. To give something back to life and make it a little bit better. Therefore I won’t spend this trip sightseeing or backpacking (nothing wrong with that, by the way!), but full-time volunteering at an animal rescue shelter.

The shelter is called DAR “Dharamsala Animal Rescue” and is located in Rakkar, a small village near Dharamsala in the most northern part of India, the region Himachal Pradesh. It’s nearby the town McLeod Ganj where the Dalai Lama now lives, while being banned from Tibet. DAR focuses on stray animals, mainly dogs. They work with animal birth control, rabies vaccinations, a mobile clinic, humane education and street animal rescue. I will volunteer with them for a month, helping with all kind of daily tasks, but also working on a merchandise line for fund raising.

I’d love to share DAR’s story and create more awareness. I would also really like you to join me on my travel adventure! Therefore I start blogging on this subject from now on. I’ll use my social media and while being in India will try to post as many stories and photos as possible. I will also share information about DAR and their social media, so you can look them up if you feel like it.

Will you join me on this adventurous trip?

Oh, I've chosen to blog in English so all lovely people from DAR and other foreign friends can join in too !

  • 31 Augustus 2017 - 20:54

    Janna:

    Ben erg benieuwd Mirjam, Supergaaf!!

  • 31 Augustus 2017 - 20:55

    Janna:

    Supergaaf!!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Nederland, Leeuwarden

Mirjam

Actief sinds 08 Nov. 2012
Verslag gelezen: 364
Totaal aantal bezoekers 33011

Voorgaande reizen:

25 September 2017 - 25 Oktober 2017

Volunteering at Dharamsala Animal Rescue

31 Januari 2015 - 20 Februari 2015

Zuid India

10 November 2012 - 25 November 2012

Incredible India...!

Landen bezocht: